Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes (08/13/12)

Members Present: Walt Mason, Reid Derr, Mina Vora, Yelena White, Sandra Sharman, Tori Kearns, and Jessica Todd

Sandra Sharman called the meeting to order at 1:35 pm on Aug 13, 2012. Dr. Sharman stated that this 1st meeting would be to discuss the Faculty Senate bylaws and to elect officers. Dr. Sharman asked for clarification on the wording relating to the election of the next at-large Senator. For instance, the wording in regard to the Terms of Office (II. Membership, 3. Terms of Office) section 3.2 states, "The Faculty shall elect the at-large Senator in the Fall Semester of the at-large Senator's final year of service." The Faculty Senate discussed that the word choice may be confusing, and suggested a revision take place to state, "The Faculty shall elect the at-large Senator at the Fall Faculty meeting of the at-large Senator's final year of service."

It was suggested by Dr. Reid Derr that before the Faculty Senate started to discuss revisions, clarification or inconsistency within the bylaws, officers should be elected. Discussion concerning a possible course release for the President and those present who were eligible for the various offices proceeded. Faculty Senate members with tenure were eligible for the position of President and Parliamentarian. Those qualified for the position on the Senate included Walt Mason, Reid Derr, Mina Vora, and Sandra Sharman. Sandra Sharman was nominated and elected as President of the Faculty Senate. Reid Derr was nominated and elected Parliamentarian. Lastly, the position for Secretary was open to all members of the Faculty Senate. Jessica Todd was nominated and elected as Secretary.

After electing officers, the Faculty Senate discussed obtaining a copy of "Robert's Rules of Order" (current edition) since many of the Faculty Senate were not up-to-date on the governing processes. In addition, discussion ensued over the budget and copy codes for Faculty Senate business. It was concluded that the Faculty Senate would go directly to the President of East Georgia State College, Dr. Boehmer, for budgetary concerns.

President Sandra Sharman reviewed the section IV. Procedures item 1.6 in regard to the Meeting Minutes for the Faculty Senate. She asked the Secretary (Jessica Todd) to ensure that all the meeting minutes for the Senate be recorded (written format), then typed and distributed according to the bylaws: the minutes will be distributed to all Faculty members (i.e. the minutes will be posted in D2L and emailed to all Faculty), and a copy of all minutes will be filed in the College Library. Dr. Sharman also asked Ms. Todd to request a D2L Faculty Senate Forum be created. Ms. Todd agreed to contact Wilder Coleman in regard to creating it.

Dr. Sharman requested clarification concerning section IV. Procedures, 4. Meeting, item 4.4 which states, "The right to submit a minority report to the College President is guaranteed to the dissenting party or faction in every instance." The question was in regards to who the "minority" might be---faculty senate member (s) or a faculty member in general. Dr. Derr, Mr. Mason, and

Dr. Sharman discussed how there are some inconsistencies and word choice in the bylaws that may make the document confusing to faculty members. It was suggested by Dr. Sharman that the Faculty Senate will need to clean up the document so that it is very clear and concise; she wants to ensure that the Faculty Senate as well as she, as the President, knows the stance of the Faculty so she can better express their desires and represent them when meeting with Dr. Boehmer.

President Sharman asked Jessica Todd to obtain a complete Committee list for all the newly elected officers from Mrs. Susan Gray since the Faculty Senate will be presiding over the following four committees: Academic Policies and Curriculum Committee, Library Committee, Study Abroad Committee, and the Promotion and Tenure review Committee. Dr. Sharman stated that a fifth committee may need to be developed to handle general issues or complaints that Faculty have in regard to decisions made that directly affect Faculty, but which they had no input (i.e. the anonymous complaint forms). The name of this possible 5th committee might be the Faculty Affairs Committee.

Discussion concerning Evaluation of Administration was briefly held.

Dr. Yelena White brought to the Faculty Senate's attention that there are some Faculty issues on the GaView Vista Faculty Forum that need to be addressed. Dr. Derr suggested that faculty members who expressed those issues should come directly to the Faculty Senate with their issues or proposals so that we follow the procedures listed in the bylaws concerning order.

The last item of business was to discuss the dates/times/locations for future Faculty Senate Meetings. It was concluded that the 1st Friday of each month at 10 am would be a convenient time for all members to meet. The following are the scheduled meeting dates/times/locations for the Faculty Senate for the Fall Semester:

Sept 7th- 10 am- Statesboro Center- Conference Room Oct 5th- 10 am- Swainsboro- Humanities Conference Room Nov 2nd- 10 am- Statesboro Center- Conference Room Dec 7th- 10 am (or at the conclusion of the Faculty Meeting)- Swainsboro- Humanities Conference Room

Dr. Sharman asked Jessica Todd to schedule these dates and times on the Master Calendar and be sure to announce the meetings 2 weeks prior to the first regular Senate meeting as indicated in the bylaws.

Lastly, it was noted that if any emergencies arise item 1.7 under section IV. Procedures, I. Meetings, allows the President of the College, the Faculty Senate, 25% of the full-time Faculty, or the Senate President to call an emergency meeting of the Faculty Senate.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:45 pm