Minutes for June 8, 2018, Stated Meeting of the East Georgia State College Faculty Senate

The EGSC Faculty Senate (FS) met in the Conference Room on the Swainsboro Campus. President Lena White called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m

In attendance were FS President Lena White, senators Damon Andrews, Ray Hayes, Drs. Reid Derr, Ren Denton, Walt Mason, Mark Hovind. Dr. Boudreaux called in. New Faculty Senate Members were not in attendance. Dr. Sega missed the meeting and designated Mr. Andrews as a proxy. Bob Marsh was absent (for the second time).

Guest: Dr. Vess

It was moved, seconded, and approved (MSA) to adopt the May 11, 2018 meeting minutes.

MSA for the new faculty senate president to discuss with Dean Wedincamp regarding the one individual who has expressed not wanting to serve and has been absent and the second individual who has not attended. The summary of the meeting will be provided to outgoing president, members of the faculty senate, dean and cc Dr. Vess.

New Business:

MSA to discuss the new drop and withdrawal and hardship withdrawal policy.

MSA to modify area A—the pathway for business majors: they can take quantitative skills or Survey to Calculus.

Dr. Vess attended to explain the new degree program and math courses.

Code of Ethics for Faculty Senate was discussed.

Committee Reports: student evaluation and faculty evaluation

Bylaws changes need to include attendance clause and the at-large senator should be tenured. Bylaws will be approved in August.

Old Business: MSA to accept the math modeling course with the attached syllabus.

Elections of New Officers: Voting: Mr. Andrews voting for Drs. Sega, Dr. Boudreaux, Mark Hovind. Ray Hayes, Ren Denton, Walt Mason.

Walt Mason is new president Ray Hayes is Parliamentarian by acclamation Secretary is Ren Denton by acclamation

MSA to adjourn at 11:28