Minutes of the April 13, 2018, Stated Meeting of the East Georgia State College Faculty Senate

The EGSC Faculty Senate (FS) met in the George L. Smith Conference Room on the Swainsboro Campus. President Lena White called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM.

In attendance were FS President Lena White, senators Damon Andrews, Drs. Ren Denton, Walt Mason, Reid Derr, and Armond Boudreaux Dr. Tori Kearns was absent due to student appointment.

It was moved, seconded, and approved (MSA) to adopt the March minutes as written.

Committee Reports:

MSA the Student Evaluation forms. The next step is to make an appointment with Mr. David Gribbin. Dr. White will contact Mr. David Gribbin and make appointment. Drs Denton and White will attend the meeting that will allow us to ask questions about automatic attendance withdrawal; evaluations not being available to the withdrawals (voluntary or forced). Not Applicable not being counted against it, so the scale goes from 5 to 4.

Annual Faculty Evaluations: Dr. Boudreaux is waiting on feedback. Evaluations are on track.

Do mentors need a check list to help in-coming faculty? (Next meeting discussion) How would the mentee provide feedback for the mentor experience so not to provoke retaliation or resentment?

Tenure and Promotion Policy: In progress.

Dr. Derr's Bylaws for Tenure and Policy: Study Abroad was removed. The new 2.1.3 is the Promotion and Tenure POLICY Review Committee: A committee that reviews the policies. Wording was discussed and refined. The final draft will be reviewed in May.

New Business:

MSA to revise the order of the policy and return the document to the appropriate committee. (highlighting the suggesting changes)

MSA: 3:10