Minutes of the April 11, 2014, Stated Meeting of the

East Georgia State College Faculty Senate

The EGSC Faculty Senate (FS) met in the Conference Room on the Statesboro campus on Friday, April 11, 2014, at 12:40 p.m.

In attendance were FS President Walt Mason, senators Pat Homer, Reid Derr, Alan Brasher, Yelena White, Mina Vora, and Breanna Simmons (on phone link).

It was moved, seconded, and approved to adopt the March 14, 2014, minutes.

Committee Reports:

Old Business:

- 1. MSA to adopt the draft EGSC Academic Freedom Statement, as amended.
- a. MSA to change the word "honor" to "support" in the fourth paragraph, the last sentence, to read, "Therefore, college administrators have a corresponding obligation to protect and support faculty members in their legitimate exercise of academic freedom."

Open Issues: None

New Business:

- 1. MSA to change Faculty Senate Bylaw II. 2.1 ("Membership" on p. 3) from:
- "Any full-time teaching Faculty of East Georgia State College holding the rank of Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor shall be eligible for election to the Senate in a voting capacity" to read
- "Any full-time employee of East Georgia State College holding faculty rank, excepting those who supervise other faculty, shall be eligible for election to the Senate in a voting capacity."
- 2. After some discussion, MSA to consider a proposed Faculty Senate Code of Ethics for the May agenda.
- 3. After some discussion, MSA to consider the proposed Malicious Accusations Resolution at the May meeting.
- 4. MSA to meet on May 9, 2014, at 3:30 p.m. in the Heritage Room in Swainsboro and on June 13 from 10 a.m.to 12 p.m. in Statesboro.

Adjourned at 1:27 p.m.